Trials + Tribulations


Can I Be Someone Great?
February 10, 2009, 2:45 pm
Filed under: Music | Tags: , , , ,

3163793456_254ee00d2e_b3Kid Cudi is obviously the most indie rapper right? I mean, first he samples Band of Horses song “Funeral” on “The Prayer” and now he’s sampling LCD Soundsystem on his new track “Can I Be” off an upcoming mixtape, Back 2 Basics. If only the track were longer than two minutes…

Kid Cudi – Can I Be

And just in case you forgot how awesome the original is…
LCD Soundsystem – Someone Great

Bonus “Someone Great” “sampling”
Justin Timberlake – My Love (Diplo Remix)


13 Comments so far
Leave a comment

That was a fantastic post.
Cudi’s flow wasn’t the best I’ve heard out of him…however, his producer and diplo both picked a winner.
Cheers

Comment by Ted

I am loving thing blog. So much.. I was going to use the word digging.
I am digging this blog.

Comment by GN

indie rap? lol, more like hipster of the moment trendy scraf rap

Comment by jon jon

[...] Cudi-Can I Behttp://tribulationstrials.wordpress.com/2009/02/10/can-i-be-someone-great/Ist Kid Cudi der Indie-Rapper schlechthin? Für seinen Song „The Prayer“ hat er vor knapp einem [...]

Pingback by on3radio

jon jon is right. I don’t think Cudi can be called an “indie” rapper. He is just like a bunch of MCs we have here in Chicago with the hipster movement. I was a big fan of his club version (soulwax) of Day ‘n Nite which took over here in Chi, with Cudi performing at a few clubs. With this track his lyrics leave more to be desired.

Comment by Mike from the Go

Kid Cudi isn’t great, and sadly neither is Diplo in terms of him cranking out the same old stuff over and over (I still like him though…), and I don’t like LCD Soundsystem either. Yes somehow I like this post.

Comment by Janine

maybe it was the picture you liked? I dunno.

Comment by copfy

Yo I am feeling the diplo mix. A little different as usual with him. I might actually dance to this! Also how do you make the mp3 links go to the download prompt like that? Javascript? somebody help me out!

Comment by RJ

it’s just a direct link from mediafire. you have to sign up for a premium account to do it…

Comment by copfy

[...] Can I Be Someone Great? Kid Cudi is obviously the most indie rapper right? I mean, first he samples Band of Horses song “Funeral” [...] [...]

Pingback by Top Posts « WordPress.com

[...] lil wayne, lykke li, peter bjorn & john, santogold Dudes, this hipster rap thing is serious. I thought it was just Kid Cudi, but now there’s another contender for Biggest Hipster Rapper. His name is Drake. Is he less [...]

Pingback by Drake vs. Cudi « Trials + Tribulations

[...] 2) Can I Be- Kid Cudi [...]

Pingback by 5 Things to Download Right Now | Rhymer Prymer

[...] be hot. Ratatat are no strangers to hip-hop and rap with their killer mixtapes, and Cudi’s no stranger to indie music. Match made in heaven? In the same article, he mentions that Lily Allen and Andre 3000 [...]

Pingback by Cudi to Collab With R@@@? « Trials + Tribulations




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

