Trials + Tribulations


SXSW Day 2: Kid Cudi Smokes a Blunt On Stage, Mistakes Austin for Houston

dsc00703So I was really really tired yesterday. But not as much as I am today. Okay so what did I do yesterday?

I got a pretty late start and headed over to see the Handsome Furs, but only caught a couple songs by the time I got in. They seemed really great, I don’t know any of their songs but I definitely want to check them out. While Wolf Parade is on vacay maybe they’re here to fill that certain little spot.

Then I headed over to Gorilla vs. Leg Tattoo’s “Gorilla vs. Booze” party which was waaaay out on the east side of Austin. Walking. And then the club was apparently inside of a sauna, which I didn’t know beforehead. I caught the tail-end of Girls’ set, which was okay, but then the maelstorm started when the Golden Filter hit the floor. They were so awesome! I’ve only ever heard their remixes and “Solid Gold,” which rocks, but another song I think is called “Cat Eyes” was incredible. They only played four songs but they were my favorite four songs of the whole day.

♫ The Golden Filter – Solid Gold

Lazily I walked over to the All That Sparkles party which was in a swanky second-story bar called Malverde. The Mae Shi were about to hit the stage when I got there. They played through most of their songs from HLLLYH of course, energetically. What are those guys taking to play so many shows? Red Bull? Five Hour Energy? Cocaine? Anway they were awesome, pulling out a parachut and moving around in the audience and stuff.

The Pains of Being Pure at Heart, following the Mae Shi, looked like frozen statues. I hadn’t heard their music either, which was twee, but not in a Tullycraft kind’ve twee. He introduced a song saying “this is a song about Satan worship… and other cool stuff like that.”

♫ The Pains of Being Pure at Heart – Come Saturday

Telepathe was plagued from the beginning with technical difficulties, and the girls looked stressed. Their bass was overwhelming and then they threw in some dancers. It felt like a really boring performance art piece, which is a shame because I really love them.

Little Boots, too, had a lot of technical difficulties. It took almost an hour for her to get set up. She bemoaned “I just want to play you guys some songs! I hate technology!” We do too, Lil Boots. She was great once in her element, and the tracks were awesome. She too only played about 5 or 6 songs, but they were all fun and dancey.

We wandered over to the Emo’s Annex and watched a bit of the Dirty Projectors whom I am also planning on seeing them. They sound a lot more rockier than the last time I saw them playing The Getty Address. This is a good thing.

I went to Aces Lounge to wait for Rye Rye and Kid Cudi to start and caught the Vivian Girls. I’ve never gotten into their album, because it seems to be the same song through the whole album. I probably just haven’t given it enough attention. They were cute and funny and everything you wanted a band to be.

Then came on this band Ebony Bones. I wasn’t expecting to like them while they were setting up. They’re from England, and like the keyboardists/synthists had on weird costumes. Then the guitarist came out shirtless with a headress, and then the singers came out looking like some African fashion show models. Their music was super fun and beat-driven, with whistles and everything thrown in. I actually liked the music, just not their stage presence.

Rye Rye came out and played the few songs she has, “Wassup,” “Hardcore Girls” and a couple more. She looked upbeat and excited, and her dancers could only keep up with her for about 30 seconds each song. Everyone hoping for an M.I.A. cameo were disappointed, but Rye Rye still brought it.

The place told us after a long wait for Kid Cudi that Cudi was a no-show, and people of course started getting pissed off. Someone threw a glass at the club manager and hey hey who’s that in the audience? Cudi! He showed up late and apologized and launched into his set with Plain Pat at the decks. He played a bunch of stuff from his mixtapes, and what I guess are new songs. “The Sky Might Fall” sounded great, and so did other ones I don’t know the names of. During one song he asked the audience for a roach, and someone gave him one. So he lit up on stage and pretty much floated through the rest of the set. He also called Austin Houston a couple times, pissing off a lot of already previously-pissed off people. He apologized again, launched into “Day N Nite” and all was forgiven. Then he invited a bunch of girls on stage and finished the show as a big party, rapping over some of Kanye’s jams and stuff. I’d heard a lot of bad stuff about his stage show, but this was pretty rad.

I just read about Cudi’s supposed “retirement” which makes more sense why last night he said he didn’t care what people said about him, he was gonna stay in it for the fans. Well as you can tell, Cudi is not retired nor will he.

As always, check our Flickr for all photos.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

