Trials + Tribulations


YYYYACHT
September 14, 2009, 9:46 am
Filed under: Music | Tags: , , , ,

yyyachtLast night Salt Lake we got treated to an awesome bill of the Yeah Yeah Yeahs and YACHT. First off, the venue, In the Venue, is one of my very least favorite venues. Ever. It might be because I got my iPod stolen while I was there in February, or because the staff are not very pleasant to their patrons. I wasn’t able to take my camera in becauase of my “professional lens” haha which is not professional in any way. So, no pictures from me.

Besides the venue, the show was awesome. YACHT opened and only played seven songs, but I’m sure they left with a lot of new fans. They were hurried to get started (the show started around 7 pm) and weren’t able to set up their video presentation, but their stage presence made up for it. Jona and Claire just seem like such amiable people that anyone could be friends with. Their dancing was great, they brought the bass and just thinking about bits of their performance makes me smile.

The Yeah Yeah Yeahs started some time around 8, and people were ready for them. Their set was almost all culled from their last two albums and a couple from Is Is. It was the most mellow show of theirs I’d been too, even though it had some intense moments. To make an observance, the first time I saw them back in 2003 or 04 in Oklahoma City, Karen sported a nasty rat tail and spit beer and grapes on the stage and on the audience. Last night she only spewed water.
But the thing I love about the Yeah Yeah Yeahs is seeing the big goofy grins on their faces (well, not Nick). Karen’s smile could brighten anyone’s day, and I love seeing them enjoy the time they have to perform. Here’s a video of an acoustic performance of “Maps” they did, though I don’t think you can hear Karen in it too much haha.

You can catch YACHT and the Yeah Yeah Yeahs on tour for two more shows, and then YACHT head out on their own.

09/15: Pomona, CA @ The Fox Theatre +
09/17: Los Angeles, CA @ Greek Theatre &
09/18: Madison, WI @ Orpheum Theatre Lobby
09/19: Urbana, IL @ The Canopy Club
10/24: San Diego, CA @ The Loft – UCSD
11/14: Miami, FL @ Electric Pickle

+=w/ YYYs
&=w/YYYs and The Breeders

I want to thank Kabeer and Girlie Action for getting me into the show! It was a blast!


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

