Trials + Tribulations


Top of 2008 #4: Hercules & Love Affair-S/T
December 12, 2008, 2:29 pm
Filed under: Music | Tags: ,

I’m really pleased that on my top ten there’s quite a few new artists. I’m glad that there are still bands out there that can impress me as much as these bands have.
Hercules & Love Affair became an overnight success. Releasing their self-titled debut on DFA would help, but also that the record was just so likable didn’t hurt either. The music is an infusion of disco, jazz, pop, and well, Antony. I’d always loved Antony Hegarty’s voice, and hearing it to danceable music wowed me. But over all, H&LA makes me even more excited to see what they have in store for their sophomore record. In the mean time I’ll keep groovin’ to this one.

Hercules & Love Affair-Athene
Buy it from Insound

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Something about the singer of HERCULES & LOVE AFFAIR – that weird affectlessness – really gets under my skin. Ariel just turned me onto your blog – you fit my weird tastes well, tho I'm more on the Antony/Sufjan slice of life.

Looking forward to more,

Dudley Saunders
http://www.DudleySaunders.com
http://www.MySpace.com/DudleySaunders

Comment by Dudley Saunders

thanks for reading! hope you enjoy and find some stuff you really like.

Comment by Michael




Leave a Reply

