Trials + Tribulations


Best Albums of 2009
December 11, 2009, 10:54 am
Filed under: Music | Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Here they are! You are so excited! You are not that excited. But I am. So shut up. Here’s how I graded my favorite albums of the year:

1. Repeatability
2. How many songs I skip when listening to it all the way through
3. Cover art (not really)

Buttttttt behold! The albums! I only talked about the top five, because, well, I’m lazy.

ttaoty21. Yeah Yeah YeahsIt’s Blitz!

I can’t get over how awesome this album is. I started off a little ambivalent about it, but quickly grew to love it. I am not one of those people who still complains about YYY’s not being “raw” enough like on Fever to Tell. That was then. They’ve matured since then and I love the maturity.

The album has it’s awesome party-starters like “Zero” and “Heads Will Roll,” but it’s ballads are what get me. Where “Maps” was filled with longing, “Hysteric” is full of pure joy of being in love. “Soft Shock” is heartbreaking, and “Skeletons” always gets me. I have this record on repeat constantly, and am not afraid to listen to it over and over.

ttaoty4 2. Tegan & Sara – Sainthood

I was also not sold on this album the first listen. But when I put it on my headphones, it was an instant love affair. Whereas parts of The Con lagged and made me want to skip tracks, Sainthood is a complete ride from start to finish. I love their melodies and lyrics, like on “On Directing” and “The Ocean.” They’re gifted girls and I’ll love them for the rest of their career.

ttaoty13. Neko Case – Middle Cyclone

I attribute my love for this album to the many many road trips I’ve taken this year. Middle Cyclone has been a driving record for me, taking me halfway across the country more than a couple times. It’s such a big record for her. Her analogies to animal and nature really hit home, and each song is just so so great!

ttaoty74. Fever Ray – Fever Ray

I knew I was going to love this album as soon as “If I Had a Heart” leaked online. Solo projects have never looked so good. I still can’t believe this record was even made. It is so perfect. I love the dark, brooding tones on every track start to finish.

ttaoty6 5. Phoenix – Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix

Again, I knew I would love this album as soon as “1901” hit the net. I’ve liked a few songs on their other albums, but never so many great tracks on one album. “Lisztomania” and “1901” are both songs that make me dance whenever I put them on, even when driving. It’s another perfect driving record. It’s also just a perfect record, period.

ttaoty5 6. Gossip – Music for Men


ttaoty3

7. Grizzly Bear – Veckatimest

ttaoty98. HEALTH – Get Color

9. YACHT – See Mystery Lights

ttaoty810. The XX – xx


3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

The soft tracks on It’s Blitz are magical, especially the acoustic versions on the special edition.

Comment by Gaz@NokiaMusic

[…] band dubbed The Mystery Lights Band to perform reworked versions of songs from last year’s favorite See Mystery Lights, plus a cover of Weezer’s “Holiday.” Rad […]

Pingback by YACHT « Trials + Tribulations

[…] and Sara released their video for “Alligator,” the second single off last year’s favorite […]

Pingback by Alligator « Trials + Tribulations




Leave a Reply

