Trials + Tribulations

Happy House
June 30, 2011, 11:59 am
Filed under: Music | Tags: , ,

Here’s the music video for new Kitsune signing Shindu’s Siouxsie and the Banshees cover “Happy House.” It’s out now on Kitsune!

[audio|leftbg=fffc05|lefticon=333333]Shindu – Happy House (Midnight Savari remix)

June 28, 2011, 5:07 pm
Filed under: Music | Tags: , ,

SSION just put up their new awesome album BENT to upload for FREE so got DO IT.

Big Bad Wolf
June 27, 2011, 4:56 pm
Filed under: Music | Tags: ,

Here’s a radio rip of the new Duck Sauce single, following their surprise smash hit “Barbara Streisand.”

Forever Young
June 27, 2011, 10:00 am
Filed under: Music | Tags: , , , ,

Joakim has a new album Nothing Gold out soon on his own label, Tigersushi. The album’s preceeding single “Forever Young” is out now, backed by remixes by Mark Kerr, Discodeine, and DyE. There’s also a music video for the single below, plus his upcoming American tourdates!

[audio|leftbg=fffc05|lefticon=333333]Joakim – Forever Young (Discodeine Remix)

July 8th – San Francisco – No Way Back @ 222 Hyde
July 9th – Los Angeles – A Club Called Rhonda @ El Cid
July 13th – Washington DC – Fixed @ UHall
July 14th – Philadelphia – Snacks @ Voyeur
July 16th – NYC – WarmUp @ PS1
July 28th – Chicago – Club Berlin

Nothing Gold is out September 20th, and the “Forever Young” single is out now.

Change is Gradual
June 27, 2011, 9:30 am
Filed under: Music | Tags: , , , , ,

Processory is a group comprised of two producers, Jori Hulkkonen and Jerry Valuri. They released a self-titled album in 2007 which showed different sounds from these more club-oriented producers. Change is Gradual, their new album released in May, shows the group growing even further, with both gentlemen sharing duties on singing, producing, playing, etc.

It’s a very chilled-out record but it moves along at an enjoyable pace. They released an EP earlier this month featuring two remixes of album tracks, and plan on releasing another tomorrow featuring a remix by Hercules & Love Affair. He’s a remix from the first EP, Recovery Measures by one of my favorite producers.

Processory – Young Italians (CFCF Remix) removed by request

In other CFCF news, he released an instrumental EP on his Bandcamp last week. Get that here for $3.

June 27, 2011, 8:45 am
Filed under: Music | Tags: , , ,

Pictureplane’s new album Thee Physical is out soon, but here’s a taste of one of the album’s finer cuts, a duet with sing Zola Jesus. The album’s a fantastic raved-out listen from start to finish, one you should definitely keep on your radar.

[audio|leftbg=fffc05|lefticon=333333]Pictureplane – Trancegender

He’s going on tour with Teengirl Fantasy this summer, so be sure and see them if they’re coming to your town if you wanna dance.

07/20 – Boston, MA @ Great Scott
07/21 – Philadelphia, PA @ Voyeur
07/22 – New York, NY @ TBD
07/23 – Brooklyn, NY @ CoCo66
07/24 – Baltimore, MD @ Club Hippo
07/25 – Washington, DC @ Subterranean A
07/26 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Belvedere’s
07/27 – Cleveland, OH @ B-Side
07/28 – Louisville, KY @ Zanzabar
07/29 – Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle
07/30 – Columbus, OH @ Double Happiness
07/31 – Buffalo, NY @ Mohawk

Das Mothcast
June 24, 2011, 11:13 am
Filed under: Music | Tags: ,

Tokyo transplant Tim Sullivan (aka Das Moth) made the newest Modular podcast (Modcast) so if you want you can download/listen to it below! (You want to)

[audio|leftbg=fffc05|lefticon=333333]Modcast #81: Das Moth

Stay put for his forthcoming remix of Cut Copy’s new single “Blink and You’ll Miss a Revolution”!

The Swiss – Movement III
Faze Action – I Wanna Dancer
Giorgio Moroder – I Wanna Rock You
Change – Don’t Wait Another Night [The Revenge Edit]
Sipho Mabuse – Break Dance [LeBaron Edit]
Lewie Day – That’s The Thing
Bottin – Stork
The Popular People’s Front – My Baby Stays Out All Night
Peech Boys – Don’t Make Me Wait [Todd Terje Edit]
Deadly Sins – Feeling Something
Dynasty – I Don’t Wanna Be A Freak [LMR Edit]
Frantique – Strut Your Funky Stuff
Gary’s Gang – Keep On Dancin’
he Pinch – Shout Out [Instrumental]
Loleatta Holloway – Dreamin’
Wuf Ticket – The Key
Dinosaur – Kiss Me Again

June 24, 2011, 10:04 am
Filed under: Music | Tags: , , ,

Yoann Lemoine isn’t a newcomer to the music industry. He’s an established music video director having done videos for Yelle, Moby, and uh, Katy Perry. Now he’s released an EP of his own material under the name Woodkid. And of course, he’s got an awesome music video for the EP’s titlular track “Iron.” See it below and grab the Mystery Jets remix while you’re at it.

The track has The xx vibes and his voice sorta reminds me of Joe Goddard (Hot Chip, The 2 Bears) so it’s easy to swallow, and the drums are great. Looking forward to more from him!

[audio|leftbg=fffc05|lefticon=333333]Woodkid – Mystery Jets Remix

The Iron EP is out now. Buy it on iTunes.

Clutching Stems
June 23, 2011, 4:23 pm
Filed under: Music | Tags: ,

The Ladybug Transistor have been on the scene for over a decade, but their new album Clutching Stems sounds fresh and original. With a new lineup, the group turns out a fun collection of songs in fine indie pop style.

[audio|leftbg=fffc05|lefticon=333333]The Ladybug Transistor – Hey Jack I’m on Fire

Clutching Stems is out now on Merge, but will be released July 20th on limited edition cassette on the new label Space Dog Records. Only 100 will be made, so preorder your copy today!

DJ Mix by Alexis Taylor
June 23, 2011, 3:54 pm
Filed under: Music | Tags: ,

Hot Chip frontman and sometimes guest vocalist Alexis Taylor put together this big mix filled with tons of good chunes. Listen and download below.

Matias Aguayo – Menta Latte
Yazoo – Situation
Syclops – Where’s Jason’s K?
Yellow Magic Orchestra – Firecracker
Class Action – Weekend
Bohannon – Let’s Start the Dance
Jimi Dendrix Experience – Gypsy Eyes
Zongamin – Serious Trouble
Noze – you have to dance
Nortec Collective ft. Bostich and Fussible – Shake it Up
Boy Better Know – Too Many Man (Hot City Remix)
No More- Hot City
Wiley – Igloo
Jay-Z – Big Pimpin’
Ludacris – What’s Your Fantasy?
Win Win ft. Lizzi Bougatsos – Release
Aphex Twin – Donkey Rhubarb
Dinosaur L – Go Bang (Walter Gibbons Mix)
Ray Mang ft. Lady Miss Kier – Bulletproof
Hot Chip – Hand Me Down Your Love (Todd Edwards Micro Chip Dub)
Somore – I Refuse
The Style Council – Can You Still Love Me?
Redub – Kraken
Rick Poppa Howard – About 14 (reRix)
Shit Robot ft. Ian Svenonius – Simple Things (Work it Out)
Joe Smooth – Promised Land