Trials + Tribulations


Gossip @ Urban Lounge
October 22, 2009, 9:22 am
Filed under: Music | Tags: , , ,

DSC02291I’m going to go ahead and tell you that Gossip are one of my very favorite bands to see live. Ask anyone and they can tell you that. Top two live act. Okay. So I went into their show Tuesday with ridiculously high expectations. Every time I have seen them play, they blow me away and make me dance more than any other show.

DSC02286
I was worried when they came out. They looked sick. Beth was ad-libbing something about the piggy flu not being able to keep them down. However, they launched into their set at full throttle, playing a couple songs until, mid-way through “Pop Goes the World” Beth’s microphone died. She sang the rest as loud as she could (which, she admitted, was not the best under her recovering conditions) but the problem was soon sorted out.

DSC02288
Gossip – Love Long Distance (Riva Starr Remix)
They continued on, rollicking through their incredible selection of hits from their past three albums mainly, Music for Men, Standing in the Way of Control, and Movement. “Fire/Sign” continues to be one of their best live anthems with Nathan’s incredible guitar lines and Hannah’s ferocious, drum machine-tight banging.

DSC02302

In other words, they left me speechless again. I had so, so, SO much fun. I haven’t danced that much since I saw The Faint after driving 23 hours on no sleep. Gossip, even when not running on full potential, are still the best live band in all of America, possibly the world. I won’t retract that comment now or ever.

DSC02262

MEN – Off Our Backs (Jeppe’s Money is a Major Issue Remix)
MEN opened and played a very true to their sound set making everybody dance and laugh at JD’s cute, quirky banter between songs. I can’t wait for them to release an album, and was bummed they’d already packed up and disappeared when Gossip had finished. Anyway, catch them both on the remainder of the tour, you won’t be disappointed.

October 23 Seattle, WA – Showbox
October 24 Portland, OR – Wonder Ballroom
October 25 San Francisco, CA  – Regency Ballroom
October 26 Los Angeles, CA – Henry Fonda Theater
October 29 Austin, TX – Emo’s
October 30 Little Rock, AR – Vino’s

Thanks to Dani from Columbia Records for getting me into the show! You can see more pictures over on my Flickr.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment